I Knew It Was You: Rediscovering John Cazale (2009)

I Knew It Was You

Director: Richard Shepard

As the poster says John Cazale was only in five films (The Godfather 1 & 2, Dog Day Afternoon, The Conversation, The Deer Hunter and Dog Day Afternoon) all of which were nominated for Best Picture (The Godfather 1 & 2, and The Deer Hunter won) and then he died of lung cancer at only 42 years old.  This documentary is short but is about reminding people just what a fantastic actor he was and what a legacy he left in such a short period of time.  The people he worked with were all the 70s greats and they are present here such as De Niro, Pacino, Streep, Hackman, Coppola, Lumet, etc and for some reason Brett Ratner?  What?  Anyway I own and have seen all of Cazale’s films many times and he truly was one of the tragic short lives in terms of actors.  A damn shame.

About Jon Watches Movies

My name is Jon and I live in New Jersey. These are the movies I have watched since January 1, 2011.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Drama, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment